Permanent Faculty

Susanna Elm

Professor of Classics and of History, Sidney H. Ehrman Professor of European History
elm@berkeley.edu

History of the later Roman Empire, East and West


Giovanni R. F. (John) Ferrari

Melpomene Distinguished Professor of Classical Languages and Literature, Professor of Classics
gferrari@berkeley.edu

Ancient Philosophy (especially Plato), Aesthetics


Mark Griffith

Klio Distinguished Professor of Classical Languages and Literature, Professor of Classics and of TDPS (Theater, Dance, and Performance Studies)
markg@berkeley.edu

Christopher Hallett

Professor of Classics and Art History
chrishallett@berkeley.edu
Doe 418

Roman sculpture, Aphrodisias excavations, Roman Egypt


Todd Hickey

Professor of Classics, Director of the Center for the Tebtunis Papyri
tmhickey@berkeley.edu

Papyrology, Late Antiquity, cultural heritage ethics


Leslie Kurke

Gladys Rehard Wood Chair, Professor of Classics and Comparative Literature
kurke@berkeley.edu

Greek literature and cultural history


Duncan MacRae

Associate Professor of Classics
duncanmacrae@berkeley.edu

Roman history, esp. cultural and social history; ancient religions


Sara Magrin

Associate Professor of Classics
magrin_s@berkeley.edu

Ancient Philosophy, esp. Hellenistic and Post-Hellenistic


Maria Mavroudi

Professor of Classics and History
mavroudi@berkeley.edu

Byzantine studies


Kathleen McCarthy

Professor of Classics
kmccarth@berkeley.edu

Roman poetry, especially comedy, lyric, and elegy


Trevor Murphy

Associate Professor of Classics
tmmurphy@berkeley.edu

Ellen Oliensis

Professor of Classics and Comparative Literature, Chair of Classics
eolien@berkeley.edu
7211 Dwinelle Hall
Mon 1-2, Weds 2-3, and by appointment, via Zoom

Roman literature, esp. Augustan poetry


Nikolaos Papazarkadas

Nicholas C. Petris Professor of Greek Studies, Professor of Classics, Director of the Aleshire Center for the Study of Greek Epigraphy
papazarkadas@berkeley.edu

J. Theodore Pena

Professor of Classics
tpena@berkeley.edu

James Porter

Irving Stone Chair in Literature, Professor of Rhetoric and Classics
jiporter@berkeley.edu

Literature and philosophy, critical theory, classicism and postclassicism


Dylan Sailor

Professor of Classics
dsailor@berkeley.edu

Latin literature, ancient historiography


Kim Shelton

Associate Professor of Classics
sheltonk@berkeley.edu

Classical Archaeology, with a focus on the Bronze Age Aegean


Mario Telò

Professor of Classics and Critical Theory
mtelo@berkeley.edu

Greek literature, ancient drama and its reception, critical theory

Professors of the Graduate School

Anthony Long

Chancellor's Professor Emeritus of Classics and Irving G. Stone Professor Emeritus of Literature
aalong@berkeley.edu
7218 Dwinelle

Greek and Roman Philosophy, Greek Literature


Donald J. Mastronarde

Melpomene Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Classical Languages and Literature
djmastronarde@berkeley.edu

For some biographical details and links to my CV and various projects, please visit my home page.


Andrew Stewart

Chancellor's Professor and Professor of the Graduate School; Nicholas C. Petris Professor of Greek Studies Emeritus
astewart@berkeley.edu
412 Doe Library

Greek and Roman art and archaeology; Greek sculpture; Athenian Agora; Renaissance and later reception of ancient art and architecture

Affiliated Faculty

tclarke@berkeley.edu

garrett@berkeley.edu

hoekstra@berkeley.edu

emackil@berkeley.edu

naddaff@berkeley.edu

norena@berkeley.edu

Visiting Faculty and Lecturers


ysyed@berkeley.edu

Participating Emeriti

gruene@berkeley.edu

rcknapp@berkeley.edu

rsstroud@berkeley.edu