Permanent Faculty

Susanna Elm

Professor of Classics and of History, Sidney H. Ehrman Professor of European History
elm@berkeley.edu

History of the later Roman Empire, East and West


Giovanni R. F. (John) Ferrari

Melpomene Distinguished Professor of Classical Languages and Literature, Professor of Classics
gferrari@berkeley.edu

Ancient Philosophy (especially Plato), Aesthetics


Christopher Hallett

Professor of Classics and Art History
chrishallett@berkeley.edu
Doe 418
On leave 2020-21

Roman sculpture, Aphrodisias excavations, Roman Egypt


Todd Hickey

Professor of Classics, Director of the Center for the Tebtunis Papyri
tmhickey@berkeley.edu
Thursdays, 2:00-4:00 pm, by Zoom; other hours by appointment.

Papyrology, Late Antiquity, cultural heritage ethics


Leslie Kurke

Gladys Rehard Wood Chair, Professor of Classics and Comparative Literature
kurke@berkeley.edu

Greek literature and cultural history


Duncan MacRae

Associate Professor of Classics
duncanmacrae@berkeley.edu
Mon 4-5.30pm; Thurs 9-11am

Roman history, esp. cultural and social history; ancient religions


Sara Magrin

Associate Professor of Classics
magrin_s@berkeley.edu
on leave fall 2020

Ancient Philosophy, esp. Hellenistic and Post-Hellenistic


Maria Mavroudi

Professor of Classics and History
mavroudi@berkeley.edu

Byzantine studies


Kathleen McCarthy

Professor of Classics
kmccarth@berkeley.edu
Zoom office 250-009-2791
Wed 10-12 and by appointment (via Zoom)

Roman poetry, especially comedy, lyric, and elegy


Trevor Murphy

Associate Professor of Classics
tmmurphy@berkeley.edu
https://tinyurl.com/yxtqyn6r (Tues. 9-10 & Fri. 10:15-11:15) or by appointment, via Zoom.

Ellen Oliensis

Professor of Classics and Comparative Literature, Chair of Classics
eolien@berkeley.edu
7211 Dwinelle Hall
off hrs: W 2.30-4, and by appointment, via Zoom

Roman literature, esp. Augustan poetry


Nikolaos Papazarkadas

Nicholas C. Petris Professor of Greek Studies, Professor of Classics, Director of the Aleshire Center for the Study of Greek Epigraphy
papazarkadas@berkeley.edu
Tuesday 10-12 - email me in advance and I will send you a Zoom link

J. Theodore Pena

Professor of Classics
tpena@berkeley.edu
on leave fall 2020

Ancient Italian material culture


James Porter

Irving Stone Chair in Literature, Professor of Rhetoric and Classics
jiporter@berkeley.edu

Literature and philosophy, critical theory, classicism and postclassicism


Dylan Sailor

Professor of Classics
dsailor@berkeley.edu
T 2-3, W 3-4, and by appointment (Zoom)

Latin literature, ancient historiography


Kim Shelton

Associate Professor of Classics
sheltonk@berkeley.edu
Google Room "Dr. Shelton's Office"
Tuesday 9:30-11:30am or by appointment

Classical Archaeology, with a focus on the Bronze Age Aegean


Mario Telò

Professor of Classics and Critical Theory
mtelo@berkeley.edu
Wednesday 2-5

Greek literature, ancient drama and its reception, critical theory

Professors of the Graduate School

Mark Griffith

Klio Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Classical Languages and Literature, Professor of Classics and of TDPS (Theater, Dance, and Performance Studies)
markg@berkeley.edu

Anthony Long

Chancellor's Professor Emeritus of Classics and Irving G. Stone Professor Emeritus of Literature
aalong@berkeley.edu
7218 Dwinelle

Greek and Roman Philosophy, Greek Literature


Donald J. Mastronarde

Melpomene Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Classical Languages and Literature
djmastronarde@berkeley.edu

For some biographical details and links to my CV and various projects, please visit my home page.


Andrew Stewart

Chancellor's Professor and Professor of the Graduate School; Nicholas C. Petris Professor of Greek Studies Emeritus
astewart@berkeley.edu
412 Doe Library

Greek and Roman art and archaeology; Greek sculpture; Athenian Agora; Renaissance and later reception of ancient art and architecture

Affiliated Faculty

Daniela Cammack

Political Science
daniela.cammack@berkeley.edu

Ancient Greek democracy; ancient Greek, Roman, and modern political ideas and practices


Timothy Clarke

Philosophy
tclarke@berkeley.edu

Ancient Greek philosophy, especially Aristotle


Andrew Garrett

Linguistics
garrett@berkeley.edu

Karuk and Yurok (languages of northern CA); early Indo-European languages, esp. Greek, Latin, and languages belonging to the Anatolian branch


Kinch Hoekstra

Political Science and Law
hoekstra@berkeley.edu

History of political, moral, and legal thought, especially ancient, renaissance, and early modern political philosophy


Emily Mackil

History, AHMA
emackil@berkeley.edu

Ancient Greek social, political, and economic history


Ramona Naddaff

Rhetoric
naddaff@berkeley.edu

Ancient Greek philosophy, rhetoric, and poetics


Carlos Norena

History, AHMA
norena@berkeley.edu

Ancient Roman world, esp. political and cultural history c. 200 BCE–400 CE; historical geography of the Roman empire; comparative ancient empires.

Visiting Faculty and Lecturers

treasa91@berkeley.edu
F 9:00-10:00 AM; by appointment (via Zoom)

Monsters in Greco-Roman literature



ysyed@berkeley.edu

Participating Emeriti

gruene@berkeley.edu

rcknapp@berkeley.edu

rsstroud@berkeley.edu